Author Topic: geosphere as background  (Read 4443 times)

2021-02-08, 17:49:15

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
hi, Can someone explain me how to setup a scene with a geosphere acting as a background and not to interfere with ilumination?
thank you!

leo


2021-02-08, 17:53:52
Reply #1

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5408
    • View Profile
Why would you want to, compared to using the overrides (Direct Visibility, Reflection, Refraction etc.)?
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2021-02-08, 17:55:26
Reply #2

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5408
    • View Profile
(if you do have a particular reason - but it should be a good one ;) - just using a CoronaLight material with Emit Light turned off, and set the geo not to cast or receive shadows should do the trick)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2021-02-08, 18:08:48
Reply #3

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
because I am using it on a 360 tour and I need to fake the movement within the boundaries.
I did what you told me, but it is still casting a weird shadow.

2021-02-08, 19:50:56
Reply #4

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5408
    • View Profile
Best thing is to post an image showing what you mean by a weird shadow :)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2021-02-09, 00:28:34
Reply #5

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
take a look at the images and see the weird shadow :)

2021-02-09, 17:51:38
Reply #6

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12645
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
That's a known issue listed under "black highlights" here - https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/articles/4528311915025-Known-bugs-and-limitations


I am attaching images showing it, and a workaround.
The workaround is to split the background material into two separate Light Materials:
- material A with "emit" off
- material B with "emit" on and "occlude" off
- then plug material A into all slots of a rayswitch material
- then plug material B into "reflect override" slot of the same rayswitch material
- then apply the rayswitch material to your background object

Let me know if you need further help / explanation here.

« Last Edit: 2023-10-11, 14:09:58 by maru »
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2021-02-09, 20:34:40
Reply #7

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
thank you! it´s working now on my scene!
have a nice day!

2021-02-11, 16:37:09
Reply #8

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
I have noticed something,  I need this background to affect visible reflections... in this setup, I can not see how to do this.


2021-02-11, 18:00:22
Reply #9

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12645
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
The material that you have plugged into "reflection override" should be affecting reflections. It doesn't seem to work like this?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2021-02-11, 18:02:08
Reply #10

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
no, It does not.  Should I upload a scene to you?

2021-02-12, 17:55:24
Reply #11

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12645
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
If you have a minimal scene, that would be great. If you prefer to send some production scene, you can PM me or upload it here: https://corona-renderer.com/upload
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2021-02-18, 17:28:33
Reply #12

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
many thanks maru.
pm sent.

2021-12-18, 18:13:13
Reply #13

leo_surrealismo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
hi again,
could you spot what is the problem here on my setup?
I am in another project and the problem came back again. 
I have a geosphere with a rayswitch material just as corona support told me (emit off  on refract and direct override; emit On on reflect override). But when I do this, it starts reflecting my CoronaSky.  and If I unthick emit light, the reflection with glossiness of 1 are perfect, but I get black speculars.

thanks!


2021-12-18, 19:12:12
Reply #14

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1219
    • View Profile
You need to put the "emit off" material into the GI slot in the Ray Switch material.