Author Topic: Corona Pattern  (Read 2789 times)

2022-08-20, 00:46:59

Cinemike

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
Thanks for that interesting tool!
What would be great now were some ready-made pattern building blocks for instant experimentation.

2022-08-20, 08:43:55
Reply #1

minimaldesign - Blaž

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
    • minimaldesign
where is this Corona Pattern modifier in C4D? I can't find it in C4D r16 :)
« Last Edit: 2022-08-20, 09:15:35 by minimaldesign - Blaž »

2022-08-22, 06:13:49
Reply #2

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1437
    • View Profile
where is this Corona Pattern modifier in C4D? I can't find it in C4D r16 :)
Yes, sadly: "Support for Cinema 4D R14, R15 and R16 has been removed (These versions are really old and required lot of maintenance time that we can now focus on improving new and existing features)."
Otherwise, you'd find it in Corona menu, right under Corona Hair, there's Corona Pattern.

2022-08-22, 11:12:54
Reply #3

minimaldesign - Blaž

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
    • minimaldesign
so it remains to buy a new cinema4d where half of our plugins don't work or other render engine....and the price remains the same for old version/the last working one of corona if we don't change render engine.
Disappointment on every point :(

2022-08-22, 11:55:23
Reply #4

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 216
    • View Profile
so it remains to buy a new cinema4d where half of our plugins don't work or other render engine....and the price remains the same for old version/the last working one of corona if we don't change render engine.
Disappointment on every point :(

Seriously - R16 was released in 2014!

That's a hundred years ago in software terms.
Of course no one wants to be forced to upgrade all the time - but you can't realistically expect software that old to be a viable option in 2022.

2022-08-22, 12:21:28
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9085
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Of course no one wants to be forced to upgrade all the time - but you can't realistically expect software that old to be a viable option in 2022.
We are not even forcing anyone to upgrade - older versions of Corona run perfectly fine with R14+. We just cannot provide new features to people who opt in to stay with 10-8 year old host application.

If you want to use R16, you can use any Corona version up to v8. If you want to use the features introduced after v8, you need to update your host application. Same way as you cannot combine 2010 motherboard with 2020 CPU, for example. If the last usable version of your host application is 8 years old, the problem is really somewhere else than Corona cutting support for it...
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-08-22, 16:53:29
Reply #6

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
I would love to see a little video or manual on the new pattern modifier for settings like object space/world space or whole or crop box and xy, zy and xz. It seems all very straight forward though but I am getting all sorts of unpredictable results. An example file with some presets would also do.

Its so busy here at the office that I dare not try new features. The pattern modifier looks great though.

2022-08-22, 16:59:24
Reply #7

Cinemike

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
I would love to see a little video or manual on the new pattern modifier for settings like object space/world space or whole or crop box and xy, zy and xz. It seems all very straight forward though but I am getting all sorts of unpredictable results. An example file with some presets would also do.

Its so busy here at the office that I dare not try new features. The pattern modifier looks great though.

There is already a help article for Max, maybe it can be of use for you.
https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/articles/7713194687633-Corona-Pattern-Modifier-3ds-Max

2022-08-22, 17:48:37
Reply #8

minimaldesign - Blaž

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
    • minimaldesign
so it remains to buy a new cinema4d where half of our plugins don't work or other render engine....and the price remains the same for old version/the last working one of corona if we don't change render engine.
Disappointment on every point :(

Seriously - R16 was released in 2014!

That's a hundred years ago in software terms.
Of course no one wants to be forced to upgrade all the time - but you can't realistically expect software that old to be a viable option in 2022.

It's just because of other plugins that are "must have" at work and speed up the implementation of projects.
And these plugins don't work in the newer version of cinema4d.
that's why we are on old versions of c4d.
we will study what this means for our workflow and what is better...use new base c4d without plugins and drastically slow down the process or change the render software

2022-08-22, 18:52:21
Reply #9

Cinemike

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
*** or change the render software

Good luck finding a recent one that still supports R16!

2022-08-22, 21:07:44
Reply #10

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
it will a great must have plug !!!
You are in archi viz, i'm curious about your must have

so it remains to buy a new cinema4d where half of our plugins don't work or other render engine....and the price remains the same for old version/the last working one of corona if we don't change render engine.
Disappointment on every point :(

Seriously - R16 was released in 2014!

That's a hundred years ago in software terms.
Of course no one wants to be forced to upgrade all the time - but you can't realistically expect software that old to be a viable option in 2022.

It's just because of other plugins that are "must have" at work and speed up the implementation of projects.
And these plugins don't work in the newer version of cinema4d.
that's why we are on old versions of c4d.
we will study what this means for our workflow and what is better...use new base c4d without plugins and drastically slow down the process or change the render software

2022-08-22, 23:38:07
Reply #11

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
@ Cinemike
tx for the tip on the tutorial for Max.

I just remembered I had bought the Arroway textures 3D gravel patterns a long time ago ( https://www.arroway-textures.ch/products/gravel-1/)  that I never used. But with the Corona Pattern feature now they must be fantastic. I can't wait to try those.
« Last Edit: 2022-08-22, 23:45:35 by frv »

2022-08-23, 01:58:50
Reply #12

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Did a quick test with Arroway 3D gravel. Imported the gravel mesh as OBJ and made a corona material with the by Arroway supplied image maps. The UV's where already imported/placed with the Arroway meshes.

The attached render test where done on my MacBook Air m1 with 16Gb. Testrenders only a few minutes.
Amazing these 3D gravel meshes can now be used with Coronarender in such a simple way.

The test render is a Cinema4D landscape of 20x20 m with the 2x2m Arroway mesh tiled at 10 x 10 (U/V). Time to first pixel is actually very fast. But I had to switch the Pattern modifier of to have any kind of viewport speed. With the modifier on I couldn't zoom or pan at all.
« Last Edit: 2022-08-23, 02:05:14 by frv »

2022-08-23, 07:11:20
Reply #13

minimaldesign - Blaž

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
    • minimaldesign
it will a great must have plug !!!
You are in archi viz, i'm curious about your must have

so it remains to buy a new cinema4d where half of our plugins don't work or other render engine....and the price remains the same for old version/the last working one of corona if we don't change render engine.
Disappointment on every point :(

Seriously - R16 was released in 2014!

That's a hundred years ago in software terms.
Of course no one wants to be forced to upgrade all the time - but you can't realistically expect software that old to be a viable option in 2022.

It's just because of other plugins that are "must have" at work and speed up the implementation of projects.
And these plugins don't work in the newer version of cinema4d.
that's why we are on old versions of c4d.
we will study what this means for our workflow and what is better...use new base c4d without plugins and drastically slow down the process or change the render software

Parametric Toolkit, Snap pro etc, etc... ;)

2022-08-23, 09:07:12
Reply #14

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile
Did a quick test with Arroway 3D gravel. Imported the gravel mesh as OBJ and made a corona material with the by Arroway supplied image maps. The UV's where already imported/placed with the Arroway meshes.

The attached render test where done on my MacBook Air m1 with 16Gb. Testrenders only a few minutes.
Amazing these 3D gravel meshes can now be used with Coronarender in such a simple way.

The test render is a Cinema4D landscape of 20x20 m with the 2x2m Arroway mesh tiled at 10 x 10 (U/V). Time to first pixel is actually very fast. But I had to switch the Pattern modifier of to have any kind of viewport speed. With the modifier on I couldn't zoom or pan at all.


excellent result! I wonder, however, if in this case perhaps it was better to use Corona scatter

2022-08-23, 10:10:30
Reply #15

Cinemike

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile

excellent result! I wonder, however, if in this case perhaps it was better to use Corona scatter

Scatter just ... scatters.
Pattern conforms the geometry to the underlying surface.

2022-08-24, 00:04:40
Reply #16

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Indeed, and the pattern modifier also cuts the pattern at the edges.
I can speed the rendertiime up by a lot since Arroway provided these gravel patterns in two layers on top of each other. I used the two layers and I think I could have just as well used only one. This pattern modifier is really a big step forward.

2022-08-24, 10:34:31
Reply #17

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 181
    • View Profile
@frv - Can you share a screenshot of your object tree and settings for the Pattern modifier? I'm being stupid, I think! Cheers

2022-09-04, 16:51:51
Reply #18

horpa

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
+1

2022-09-05, 17:32:10
Reply #19

d4l1

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Yeah, trying out the Corona Pattern myself right now and I don't get it at all. Even with the 3DS Max guide open. C4D is missing the Pattern Node selection, right?

Edit:
Ok - working now and I get to see something.
Important: Only visible in render and the base object needs proper UV layout. Setup looks like in the attached screenshot.
Now I''ll try to get some control over all what is happening there. Looks promising!
« Last Edit: 2022-09-05, 17:48:50 by d4l1 »

2022-09-06, 18:23:45
Reply #20

horpa

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
...thank you ...

2022-09-10, 15:50:06
Reply #21

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
So trying the great new pattern, i see 3 wishes come up fast:)

1) to use more than 1 object, placement controlled via a shader in UV (similar to the geotexture plugin), at least i wasn't able to do this yet.

2) to have an option to randomize the placement and rotation etc of the objects (if more than 1)

3) coloring of the pattern"clones" by a base UV texture, as i think ti works in max corona already

would be great i think, makes this tool even better

thanks!
Stefan
« Last Edit: 2022-09-11, 20:34:44 by Stefan-L »

2022-09-12, 16:34:45
Reply #22

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 713
    • View Profile
Haven't had a chance to explore Pattern yet, but I do wonder where the most benefits lie compared to Mograph. I think Mograph could create that landscape with the rocks including variation in the shader, push apart to keep them from intersecting, random size and position and I believe would follow the geometry as well. Assuming this is true, is there a big difference in the memory usage or viewport performance? What about render times?

2022-09-12, 17:37:22
Reply #23

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4446
    • View Profile
    • studio website



excellent result! I wonder, however, if in this case perhaps it was better to use Corona scatter

You would never be able to do this with scatter in fact :- ). The reason is that the original piece from Arroway used physics simulation for the rocks to fall down only naturally to the ground, but also touch each other.
Scatter can't simulate anything it would just randomly place them, but randomness isn't the same, and intersection avoidance so they don't touch each other would barely work.

This is actually pretty cool !
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-09-12, 19:46:41
Reply #24

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8046
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I would argue that the scatter is better suited tool for things like gravel, than the pattern is. For one, it's so much easier to get decent assets for the scatter than for the pattern. Heck, you can even generate few spheres, add some noise deformation, spherically map any rock like texture on top, scatter them up and it would look decent from any angle, except most extreme close-ups. As additional benefits - no repeating tiling, which is almost impossible to avoid with pattern and also you can add global dirt/variation texture on top (not available in pattern too).
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-12, 20:17:51
Reply #25

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4446
    • View Profile
    • studio website
That Arroway gravel piece is colored by single big map which can be offset with UVW Randomizer. That will solve 90perc. of the tiling. Rarely you need more than few square meters of this type of designed arch gravel. And that quality will never be matched even remotely by scatter.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-09-12, 20:35:09
Reply #26

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
"Pattern yet, but I do wonder where the most benefits lie compared to Mograph"

@BigAl3D:   mograph places copies of objects, Pattern deforms them along the base surface. 2 totally different things and tools:)

2022-09-12, 20:46:45
Reply #27

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8046
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
That Arroway gravel piece is colored by single big map which can be offset with UVW Randomizer. That will solve 90perc. of the tiling. Rarely you need more than few square meters of this type of designed arch gravel. And that quality will never be matched even remotely by scatter.

I'm not sure if i understand how that Arroway asset looks. I thought it's a bunch of pebbles which was pre-simulated and baked into single mesh. How could you offset its texture if it's single map? Wouldn't that create obvious mismatch between geometry and texture then?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-12, 21:06:06
Reply #28

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4446
    • View Profile
    • studio website
It's just one very big color texture. If you can randomizing it, each stone will end up being differently colored. They are all uwrapped on different UV position.
But I last saw the actual material setup many (7?) years ago :- ). Even single tile was way too heavy...
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-09-13, 08:29:05
Reply #29

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 395
    • View Profile



excellent result! I wonder, however, if in this case perhaps it was better to use Corona scatter

You would never be able to do this with scatter in fact :- ). The reason is that the original piece from Arroway used physics simulation for the rocks to fall down only naturally to the ground, but also touch each other.
Scatter can't simulate anything it would just randomly place them, but randomness isn't the same, and intersection avoidance so they don't touch each other would barely work.

This is actually pretty cool !

you're right, perfectly okay :D

2022-10-03, 13:25:04
Reply #30

swiat3d.net

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Hi, how to prevent "plane" from rendering, so that only the pyramids can be seen?

Cinema 4D R26.107 + Corona RC1


EDIT:
All works fine after restart :)
« Last Edit: 2022-10-03, 13:31:30 by swiat3d.net »