Author Topic: Hair and fur. Hide base mesh  (Read 968 times)

2021-12-20, 17:33:03

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Hello,

I found that when using hair and fur, if I want to hide the base mesh but still render the hair, I need to use Visibility at 0 in object properties instead of unchecking "renderable". Unchecking "Renderable" doesn't render the hair either.
Is this intended this way or is it a bug?

I'm using Corona 7 and 3DS Max 2020.

2021-12-21, 09:41:04
Reply #1

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 608
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
Give the base mesh a material with 0 opacity?
Nicolas Pratt
Another Angle 3D
https://www.instagram.com/anotherangle3d/

2021-12-21, 10:40:25
Reply #2

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7565
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Didn't render H&F for a while, but i think in the past it used to work like you described, i.e. you could untick "renderable" option in object properties and hair would still render fine.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-01-12, 15:09:04
Reply #3

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Didn't render H&F for a while, but i think in the past it used to work like you described, i.e. you could untick "renderable" option in object properties and hair would still render fine.

No Corona Team answer?
Is this a bug?

2022-01-12, 16:11:28
Reply #4

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1565
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi Guys,

I checked this back to Corona v5 and it has behaved the same all along.

I can log this as a bug, but the behaviour seems logical to me. If the base object is set to non renderable then the modifier shouldn't be rendered.

Please let me know your thoughts.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2022-01-12, 16:24:43
Reply #5

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Thanks Rowan.
I agree with you. It does make sense.
But when I googled for an answer to how to hide the base mesh, this came up:

https://forums.cgsociety.org/t/hair-and-fur-base-geometry/1556206/5

"Sure you can: select the base object > right-click > object properties > rendering control group > if ‘by layer’ is active, change to ‘by object’ > un-tick where it says ‘renderable’."


2022-01-12, 17:04:15
Reply #6

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1565
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi,

That's interesting. Maybe something changed in 3ds Max, that's from way back in 2012 and it's more than possible that something in Max changed too.

It seems you have a workaround already, so if you're happy with that then I won't dive any deeper into it at the moment :)

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2022-01-12, 17:12:15
Reply #7

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Hi,

That's interesting. Maybe something changed in 3ds Max, that's from way back in 2012 and it's more than possible that something in Max changed too.

It seems you have a workaround already, so if you're happy with that then I won't dive any deeper into it at the moment :)

Thanks,

Rowan

Sure. No worries. I just wanted to know what the normal behavior was. Thanks.

2022-01-12, 19:38:38
Reply #8

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7565
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Something tells me that something has changed in Corona and not in the 3ds Max. I have character that i've been rendering since Corona alpha 5 and if i open this character in V8, the trick with making base mesh non renderable via object properties is working, i.e. the mesh itself is not rendering, but the hair that grows on it, is rendering. I can't make it work like this on freshly created mesh though.

I checked this back to Corona v5 and it has behaved the same all along.

I think you need to roll back even more, possibly to V1.6 when there were no hair material.

I can log this as a bug, but the behaviour seems logical to me. If the base object is set to non renderable then the modifier shouldn't be rendered.

Using low-poly non-renderable mesh for growing hair is pretty common with CG characters. I think all the renders that i've tried, supports rendering hair from non-renderable mesh.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures