Author Topic: Substance in 3ds max does not detect corona 8 renderer as primary renderer  (Read 1274 times)

2022-04-27, 20:27:23

ShaNaya

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hi,

I've encountered yesterday with an issue concerning Corona 8.
I was working on a scene using corona in IR mode when suddenly it opened up by itself a couple of dialog windows of folders with matrials. As I was trying to close every window suddenly 3ds max crashed.
I relaunched max and everything worked fine until I needed to use sbsar file from substance source.
When I tried converting the sbsar file through " Substance to corona" a dialog pops up saying "select primary renderer" even though the renderer is set to corona.
I'm using 3ds Max 2022. I checked if the issue happens also in 3ds max 2021 and 2023 and yes it does and in both I've installed corona 8.
I've talked today with a colleague of mine that has been experiencing this same issue aswell on max 2021/2022 and 2023.
Attached is a screenshot of what I'm experiencing.

I hope you can resolve this issue asap.

Thanks

2022-04-28, 07:29:12
Reply #1

rajsohal

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I am having same issue, still persisted even after resetting my pc and clean installing Max 2023 and Corona8

2022-05-02, 19:31:13
Reply #2

stellab

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hi!
I have the same issue, any idea how to resolve this problem?

Thanks
Stella

2022-05-04, 14:29:57
Reply #3

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 805
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi everyone, the issue is highly likely related to the lack of support for Corona ver.8 of the Substance plugin. We are planning to contact the substance team and alert them on the issue. Please stay posted, as soon as we have more news on the matter we will write you back.

(Report ID=CRMAX-1579)
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2022-05-25, 18:49:30
Reply #4

gitano_anton

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile

2022-05-25, 19:13:09
Reply #5

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 805
  • George
    • View Profile
Any news about this?

Hi, the Substance team is notified and I believe already addressing the issue.
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us

2022-05-25, 19:17:40
Reply #6

gitano_anton

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile

2022-06-06, 17:47:36
Reply #7

JGallagher

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Hello, any update on this? I'm getting this error as well. Fresh install of everything.

2022-06-06, 18:21:44
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11415
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
We are in touch with the Substance team, but still no news, sorry.
The only workaround for now is to downgrade to Corona 7 as Substance does not recognize Corona 8 as a supported render engine.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-08-05, 04:15:30
Reply #9

pwainwright82

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
I'm having the same issue.

I've worked around it by exporting parts of the model to Painter, applying textures and then exporting using the Corona Output template.

I hope that helps some (not all) until we get an update.

2022-08-05, 11:47:13
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7694
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I tried Substance plugin in 3ds Max 2023.1 - it renders fine in regular render, but crashes instantly in interactive.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures