Author Topic: max 2023.2 crashing when closing render setup dialog  (Read 2664 times)

2022-09-29, 14:07:42
Reply #15

ihabkal

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
did 3dsmax 2023.2.2 fix this for anyone?

2022-09-29, 14:32:39
Reply #16

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7919
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
For me it's not crashing, but i'm using latest V9 build, which has fix for the issue and Corona is not set as default renderer in my Max.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-29, 15:29:59
Reply #17

Bjoershol

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Still on Corona 8 as I need a stable release for production - 2023.2.2 did not fix the render setup crash here.

2022-09-29, 16:43:17
Reply #18

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
its not fixed in the 2023.2.2 update.
you can set any renderer that is not Corona to default and then have to switch back to Corona every time, to avoid the problem.
but that obviously still sucks.



2022-09-29, 22:54:23
Reply #19

ihabkal

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 253
    • View Profile
last few weeks were rough, yesterday this issue also prevented me from sending jobs to the render farm. I was up till 2:00 AM uninstalling and reinstalling max didn't help. I have to finish 3 projects by mid next week. why is this happening? so no fix to 8.2? why?

2022-09-30, 08:25:19
Reply #20

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1680
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi,

As I said before, this is an Autodesk bug and really needs to be addressed on their side.

We managed to patch it for the v9 daily builds, but right now don't have plans to port it back to v8.

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!

2022-09-30, 09:27:09
Reply #21

Bjoershol

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
last few weeks were rough, yesterday this issue also prevented me from sending jobs to the render farm. I was up till 2:00 AM uninstalling and reinstalling max didn't help. I have to finish 3 projects by mid next week. why is this happening? so no fix to 8.2? why?

I don't know if it will help you, but someone said that assigning a different renderer in Render Setup and then switching back to Corona will avoid the crash. Need to do it every time you restart Max, or assign a different default renderer. Hope that can help!

2022-10-03, 18:28:49
Reply #22

gandhics

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Quote
Any reference, or just personal experience?

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/3ds-max-forum/urgent-2023-2-update-cannot-open-scenes-created-previous-2023/td-p/11423396

Had it happen to me today. Seems to be related to the chamfer update.

The file opening issue with Chamfer fixed in 2023.2.2.

2022-10-03, 18:45:04
Reply #23

gandhics

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
last few weeks were rough, yesterday this issue also prevented me from sending jobs to the render farm. I was up till 2:00 AM uninstalling and reinstalling max didn't help. I have to finish 3 projects by mid next week. why is this happening? so no fix to 8.2? why?

I don't know if it will help you, but someone said that assigning a different renderer in Render Setup and then switching back to Corona will avoid the crash. Need to do it every time you restart Max, or assign a different default renderer. Hope that can help!

Then you can try to put this in script/startup folder.
Either
C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 2023\scripts\Startup
or
C:\Users\[username]\AppData\Local\Autodesk\3dsMax\2023 - 64bit\ENU\scripts\startup

just save any .ms file something like "coronafix,ms"

renderers.current = DefaultScanlineRenderer()
renderers.current = CoronaRenderer()

2022-10-03, 20:46:59
Reply #24

gandhics

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Hi,

Right now we are not planning on that, we have been in contact with the guys at Autodesk and they are looking into a fix for 3ds max itself.

So hopefully they will manage to patch it and fix the root cause.

Cheers,

Rowan

I'm not sure about this.
If Corona is the only plugin that has issue, why would Autodesk do anything?
Also even tho they might do something, I think Corona should release fix until then.

2022-10-15, 20:36:37
Reply #25

catch

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
You can first go to the Performance tab in Render Setup and then close the window. After that, the program does not close