Author Topic: shift in displacement and texture map  (Read 1033 times)

2022-05-01, 01:36:10

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Hi,
I noticed that in daily build 9 there is a shift between the displacement mapping and the texture mapping in the base layer of a physical material.
See attachment. This is a brick wall where the displacement does not follow the texture mapping. it only happens when  the texture tag is set as cubic and when the scale is reduced with the length U and V. At 100% the displacement and texture maps fit perfectly well.

I hope this can be fixed since I use a lot of brick textures rescaled and mapped as cubic instead of as a UV in C4D. I did not notice this before in versions 8.

Mac Studio Ultra 20 core, 128gb. OSX C4Dr26. CRv9(21april)
« Last Edit: 2022-05-01, 01:39:45 by frv »

2022-05-02, 14:48:49
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, where exactly did you get the texture from? Are you able to submit it for testing? If so, please feel free to use the link in my signature below.
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-05-04, 00:56:19
Reply #2

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Hi, yes the texture is by Petersen from the material Kolumba K55:
https://en.petersen-tegl.dk/kolumba/products/k55
that's the product page. Click on "Texture" to download the textures petersen-k55-tilable-mask.jpg and petersen-k55-seamless-texture-dark-mortar-2020-05.jpg

I never had this problem before or noticed it.
It happens when the object/material tags are scaled ( in this case to 5%) and set to cubic as in the post before where I added a screenshot of the setup.

I can also send you the file. I don't know how though. The textures are about 35Mb and 2.8Mb but are the same dimensions in mm.
« Last Edit: 2022-05-04, 01:07:22 by frv »

2022-05-04, 11:19:33
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, you can send your file via the ''Corona Support'' link in my signature below. ;)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-05-05, 00:39:17
Reply #4

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
After this mail I send you a file that shows it.
Strange thing is that when I set a fillet on the cube that has the material with the texture map, the displacement texture fits fine on the color texture but without there is a weird shift. The displacement then no longer matches the color map.
See attachments and the file I send.

btw, I changed the textures to match the real world dimensions. So the problem is most likely not related to scaling the material tags on the cubic mapping.

2022-05-05, 01:06:12
Reply #5

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Well, I found that the problem is related to the texture tag in the object manager set to Cubic instead of UV. At UV all is fine but once set to cubic the color map no longer matches the displacement map.

That complicates my work since I often need to move a texture on a facade without having to go into UV mapping. I usually set these texture tags from UV to cubic.

What can help is to set the displacement texture to a level of minus and plus. Like -5 and +5 for the brickwork. But it does not completely solve the problem.

I hope this is fixable by the Corona team. I wonder what causes this behaviour.

2022-05-05, 11:27:54
Reply #6

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, can you also test the same material and process with the standard renderer? I want to know if this is Corona related or if it's a general C4D issue. If you can test that, that would be great!
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-05-05, 11:38:03
Reply #7

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1337
    • View Profile
More segments you add to geo, more precise and visually better displacement gets.

2022-05-05, 11:59:25
Reply #8

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Hi,
tx but I have no idea how to do that. I tried making the same C4D default material but displacement does not show in C4D in standard or phyical render. At least not with my settings.

Well, I better let this go. We have the same material/textures set up in Lumion and there it all works perfectly but a little less impressive renderquality. I already tested the patience of our clients a little too much and they are happy with what my co-worker did in Lumion.

I could try v8 to see what happens.

2022-05-05, 12:14:32
Reply #9

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Well, I tried the default C4D PBR material and there it also showed that cubic projection makes the displacement and color mappings not match up both rendered in CR.
But I do not now how to switch on displacement in the physical C4D render engine. Somehow I can not get displacement to show in the default renderers in C4D. Maybe its these textures or something else.

Attachments left cube with CR material and right cube with C4D PBR both rendered in CR.
1 Cubic projection
2 UV projection

2022-05-05, 13:43:19
Reply #10

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, in the material editor go to Create>Materials>New PBR Material. Towards the bottom of this material you will see the displacement options.


Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-05-05, 14:28:00
Reply #11

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1337
    • View Profile
Well, here's my go:  UVW (in front) vs Cubic (behind)


2022-05-05, 14:48:32
Reply #12

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Well, here's my go:  UVW (in front) vs Cubic (behind)


And behind the second wall? ha ha ;) Is your test with or without Corona?
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-05-05, 15:58:38
Reply #13

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Hi, thank god some humor. Needed that. Before a deadline everybody is dead serious...
My testing is done with CR renders.

Tx to explain where the displacement setting is, but I don't know how to show it in the C4D physical or standard renderer. The default PBR I made with displacement renders in CR with displacement visable but not visable in C4D standard and physical renderer. In CR it shows fine exept for the mismatch under cubic projection.

Well, good to see at your end the problem seems not there.
But here it remains, I tested in v8 & C4DR25 and the mismatch is there too. what could it be ? I set up my testfile in the simplest way possible. Maybe you send me your file with your file including the magic behind the second wall.
« Last Edit: 2022-05-05, 17:44:57 by frv »

2022-05-05, 16:20:58
Reply #14

burnin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1337
    • View Profile
And behind the second wall? ha ha ;) Is your test with or without Corona?

Yeah, something complex happened :D "I or..."
-------------------

@frv
As noted above, give more segments to your geo... it's also what you observed w/ fillet, which basically gave you "supporting edges". It's quite common...
« Last Edit: 2022-05-05, 16:26:49 by burnin »