Author Topic: Texture based on light occlusion?  (Read 1420 times)

2022-08-26, 11:13:08

aaouviz

• Active Users
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
Hi all,

I thought this would be simple enough, but it's turning out to be trickier than expected.

I thought I'd have a go at replicating this BlenderGuru tutorial in 3DSMAX. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0YZzHn0iz8U&t=1016s&ab_channel=BlenderGuru

I'm stumbling on how to show the lights only on the dark side of the earth. AKA; How can I make a texture appear only when no light is bouncing on it?

Of course I'm using a Corona sun and no environment, and I thought that light/dark fall-off node would work, but it doesn't.

I've had some success with TextureObjectMask (putting a plane in the middle of the Earth/Sphere and locking it's 'lookat' constraint to the sun. This method works... but it's kinda heavy and buggy.) I've never used this texture node before.

Side-note bug report: It seems if I plug this TextureObjectMask into a CoronaPhysicalMtl and I want to replace it later with a different texture I can't - I just get a little red dot disallowing me to plug it in.. what's going on here?)

Anyway, any other tips for me to do this dark/light occlusion?

Many thanks!
Nicolas Pratt
Another Angle 3D
https://www.instagram.com/anotherangle3d/

2022-08-26, 11:38:31
Reply #1

maru

• Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
What you are trying to do would be a fake. There are lights on Earth which are turned on during daytime, you just don't see them because the sunlight is stronger. If you set up strong sunlight and cast it on some area where there are weaker lights, you will not see those lights. The same weak lights will be however visible in the shadows.

I am afraid the fake approach with "something is masked based on illumination" is not possible with Corona at the moment. We have a feature request for supporting the shadow/light options in Falloff, but I don't think it's high priority.