Author Topic: CORONA NEED ACES COLOR SPACE (AcesCg)  (Read 7199 times)

2022-04-06, 11:03:40
Reply #15

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9085
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Corona v8 can use ACES color space internally
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-04-06, 11:46:14
Reply #16

ianosss

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
So does V8 have ACES? Sorry if I misunderstand. :)

2022-04-06, 13:50:01
Reply #17

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9085
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
define ACES

We currently support as much ACES as we can without hacks while being a plugin in non-ACES DCC applications
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-04-06, 15:11:25
Reply #18

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2598
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
If you want to request something, please use the dedicated ''Feature request'' thread.

where is the dedicated ''Feature request'' thread ?

and.. mid 2021 it was said it is in the works,
but with "use the dedicated 'Feature request' thread" it doesn't look like ACES is coming in v8.
Well, it's right here! ;)

Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-04-06, 16:06:51
Reply #19

ianosss

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
define ACES

We currently support as much ACES as we can without hacks while being a plugin in non-ACES DCC applications

Well, I'm just learning about ACES at the moment so I don't really have a great understanding at the moment. I tried it quickly in Octane and liked the results I got. So was wondering really if and how it would work in Corona.

2022-04-06, 16:16:11
Reply #20

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9085
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
In that case, there is 90% chance that what we do in v8 is the "make it look nice" effect you associate with ACES, even though we cannot read ACES input assets (which you probably dont have anyways)
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-04-06, 18:09:01
Reply #21

ianosss

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
In that case, there is 90% chance that what we do in v8 is the "make it look nice" effect you associate with ACES, even though we cannot read ACES input assets (which you probably dont have anyways)

Ok thats great. Looking forward to V8. Yes thats pretty much all I want, see how it looks with my Corona renders. :) I may download the latest V8 to try. Is there any info how to apply ACES in Corona V8? Is it in the VFB tone mapping menu?

2022-04-06, 18:26:23
Reply #22

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4581
    • View Profile
It will be, in the next RC 4 coming out soon for C4D (out earlier today for Max); it's a single parameter with no settings, you just add it and enable it if you are loading an existing project; in new projects it will be shown in the stack by default and you won't need to add it, just enable it. Very easy, but very nice results (just the way I like things!)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-04-06, 19:15:53
Reply #23

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9085
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
In that case, there is 90% chance that what we do in v8 is the "make it look nice" effect you associate with ACES, even though we cannot read ACES input assets (which you probably dont have anyways)

Ok thats great. Looking forward to V8. Yes thats pretty much all I want, see how it looks with my Corona renders. :) I may download the latest V8 to try. Is there any info how to apply ACES in Corona V8? Is it in the VFB tone mapping menu?

see here: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=35847.msg196944#msg196944
Rendering is magic.How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-04-06, 19:37:39
Reply #24

ianosss

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 61
    • View Profile
It will be, in the next RC 4 coming out soon for C4D (out earlier today for Max); it's a single parameter with no settings, you just add it and enable it if you are loading an existing project; in new projects it will be shown in the stack by default and you won't need to add it, just enable it. Very easy, but very nice results (just the way I like things!)

Ok great thanks for the info. I like the sound of "very easy" too. :)

2022-04-08, 23:23:39
Reply #25

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 394
    • View Profile
hi guys,
i was doing save tests using the ACES profile.
I found a match when saving in HDF but I would like to get the same effect when saving in EXR.
What are the right settings to log out correctly?

thanks