Author Topic: layered material : blending modes ?  (Read 13341 times)

2017-03-27, 11:03:59

clemwipix

• Users
    • View Profile
Hi all , I'm new with Corona render , and wanted to give a try building some layered materials , but I don't understand how it can works without blending mode ( adding a black glossy mat on the top for example to get the reflexion coating etc ) . is it planned to make it work with blending modes in the future ? ( normal, multiply, add etc )

and by the way , if I'm not wrong , in Octane for example , when you have a full opacity on a material , you can still see the reflexion effect .. here opacity seems to kill the reflexion so hard to get a "reflexion only" material .

thank you

2017-03-27, 11:46:25
Reply #1

houska

• Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hello and welcome to the community!

The way the layered material works is actually very simple once you know how pathtracing renderers work. So being a bit simplifying here, in order to find a color of some point in a scene, you samle a direction and calculate how much light comes from that direction and what color is the result of this light depending on the material. If you average a lot of these samples then, you have a pretty exact idea of what the scene looks like.

Now, what the layered material does is nothing more than just randomly selecting from a set of materials when you are sampling the direction. and the amount then influences the probability with which a given material is selected.

Edit: to be more specific, let me quote the internal documentation: This material simulates stacking of multiple layers of thin materials on each another - the top material is evaluated first, and where its mask is non-white, the one material below it is evaluated, and so on, until the base material is reached
« Last Edit: 2017-03-27, 12:57:10 by houska »

2017-03-27, 12:58:18
Reply #2

houska

• Active Users
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile