Author Topic: Has anyone tapped out 128gb of RAM?  (Read 2283 times)

2020-09-22, 23:32:46

Alex Abarca

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 387
  • Corona Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
    • www.alexabarcaviz.wordpress.com
Has anyone tapped out 128gb of RAM? If that's the case, can you share examples and stories?

2020-09-23, 17:33:59
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11507
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Can you explain, for non-native English speakers, what "tapped out" means? I am guessing it means spending a lot of money, but maybe you mean running out of so much RAM?
I need this info to either keep the thread here or move it to the hardware section. :)
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2020-09-23, 17:41:05
Reply #2

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4593
    • View Profile
Tapped out would be exhausting or running out of, so I think the question here is "Does anyone have 128GB of RAM and have run into situations where you use it all and run out of RAM? What did that scene look like if so?"

I know of one person, but I think that was a scene error or bug ;)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2020-09-23, 17:48:23
Reply #3

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4382
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I did, 2 or 3 years ago with scene that had lot of 3D people and particularly hair(cuts) on those people :- ). Also, plenty of scenes with displacement.

But Corona has since did so much optimizations (plus 2.5D disp) in memory usage I'm no longer even coming close.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2020-09-23, 17:56:41
Reply #4

johan belmans

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 761
    • View Profile
    • belly.be
we did in some rare cases. Mostly has to do with combinations of the following items:
-visuals with 6K resolutions or higher
-low displacement values (screen: 1 px, enlarging these values helps)
-large scenes with a lot of forest packs (making use of LOD helps)
-having many render elements (in combination with denoising)

But as I stated above, mostly it all fits within 128 Gb

2020-09-24, 00:40:20
Reply #5

Alex Abarca

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 387
  • Corona Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
    • www.alexabarcaviz.wordpress.com
Thanks Guys!

What Tom stated is exactly what I was aiming for, sorry for the slang I should been more clear.

Thanks Juraj and Johan, that helps in understanding where problems may arise when it goes past 128gb. Personally I haven't passed the 128gb threshold, but I can tell you for sure that in my working files 64gb is not enough anymore, Thanks guys!

Alex
« Last Edit: 2020-09-24, 00:57:50 by Alex Abarca »