Author Topic: dirt (streaks) like vray 5  (Read 5230 times)

2020-11-14, 10:45:20

prince_jr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
hi all
i just watched a video on youtube about vray 5 and dirt map...

most of my 3d-work is architecture. dirty concrete is something i use regularely, especially making dirt steaks. at the moment i always end up to add them in photoshop manually.
i'm aware of "ambient occlusion" as a solution, but it is just not the same. vray dirt seems to be much more powerful and realistic.

question to the developers:
are there any thoughts about implementing this feature in the future?
when can we expect something similar in corona renderer to get same results?

thanks in advance & stay safe/healthy

2020-11-14, 12:18:00
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7534
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I think it's nothing more than procedural noise map built-in into AO/dirt shader. It's perfectly possible to achieve the same effect with CoronaAO.

I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2020-11-14, 14:12:16
Reply #2

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Would be even better if corona had a raytracing API and we could finally have richdirt support :)

2020-11-14, 14:26:19
Reply #3

prince_jr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
okay...thanks for the hint, romullus!
i gave it another try. it look okay. surely need to fine tune the settings.
but i'm still struggeling with a specific thing > still having parts, where ambient occlusion shouldn't be applied (see attached image).

by the way...i'm a c4d user. ;o)

2020-11-14, 14:45:33
Reply #4

prince_jr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
@Jpjapers that's for our input! this plugin looks amazing.
but here we go again...no support for cinema 4d at all. :o( cinema 4d is really a downside, when it comes to plugin support.

2020-11-14, 15:35:14
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7534
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
i gave it another try. it look okay. surely need to fine tune the settings.
but i'm still struggeling with a specific thing > still having parts, where ambient occlusion shouldn't be applied (see attached image).

Try to increase ray directionality - it should help with those problematic corners. Also you can play with colour spread. One last thing to try - plug Corona colour correct between AO and material and tweak its curves to achieve desired look of the streaks.

by the way...i'm a c4d user. ;o)

I noticed, but this shouldn't be a problem, as long as C4D has some procedural noise map :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2020-11-14, 21:36:49
Reply #6

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1500
    • View Profile
Welp. I was in the wrong help boards. Thought this was in Max.
As you were!

2020-11-15, 13:17:45
Reply #7

prince_jr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
another test...quite happy with the result. :o)

2020-11-15, 21:37:52
Reply #8

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
Hello could you share your Node Materiel

Thx

2020-11-16, 08:52:36
Reply #9

prince_jr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
Hello could you share your Node Materiel

Thx

@leo3d see attached image. basically i did what @romullus said.