Chaos Corona for Cinema 4D > [C4D] General Discussion

License

(1/3) > >>

creo3d:
Hi, I have a question regarding the answer to the questions about the Corona 8, before the output of the cr 8 I had so that I am working on the first two cinema 4d r21 and r20.
Previously, I modeled and textured on my laptop and I did such a fast rendering, at the same time the running workstation was rendering the second project. I currently have one license and unfortunately I have to close this license on one device to make it work on the other device. Now I have to buy under a license? I have a subscription for a month.

Nejc Kilar:
Hello!

If you have just one subscription going then you get 1x floating workstation license which means you can move it between computers but at any point in time it can only be active on a single computer. So yes, you need to close it on one computer so that it works on the other.

You can, as you noted, always buy another license which will give you the ability to have 2x Cinema 4D's running with Corona at the same time but alternatively, if you only want the other computer to render the images for you it is probably wiser to look into adding more render node licenses to your subscription.

With render nodes you can model, texture, do interactive rendering and all that on one computer and when you're ready you can start up Team Rendering and then the other computer will join in to help with the number crunching. There's methods using the Render Queue where you can start up Team Rendering without the local machine (the one you are working on) partaking in on the process so that way you can continue working while the other computer is rendering. This does slow down your local computer a bit as well though. If it helps, you can think of render node licenses as specialized licenses that you use when you want that machine to just render stuff out without you actually using it to work on the scene.

Hope that helps :)

TomG: