Author Topic: Corona 7 Displacement - Not solved completely yet?  (Read 4735 times)

2021-03-16, 16:10:53
Reply #15

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
    • View Profile
Hi Dionysios,

Did you encounter this issue again?

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-03-16, 16:14:11
Reply #16

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 634
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Rowan,

last weekend I launch the final renders of that job, everything went well but during the last IR tests it happened again 3 times.
Objects were disappeared, stop, restart and was ok.
« Last Edit: 2021-03-16, 16:36:50 by Dionysios.TS »
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

Personal Portfolio: https://evolvia-imaging.com

2021-03-16, 16:25:28
Reply #17

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
    • View Profile
Hi,

That's really strange. Please would you be able to record a screen capture of this happening?

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-03-16, 16:40:52
Reply #18

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 634
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi,

That's really strange. Please would you be able to record a screen capture of this happening?

Thanks,

Rowan

The point is always the same, is not happening always unfortunately. I can send you again the update file and assets if you want.
Last time it happened, I just loaded the file hit IR Render, waited for a long time for parsing and happened.

BTW, my system is based on AMD chipset and CPU in case may help. It happened to Juarj as well from what I read, he is on AMD as well.

Let me know, maybe send you the assets again may help.
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

Personal Portfolio: https://evolvia-imaging.com

2021-03-17, 14:03:24
Reply #19

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
    • View Profile
Hi,

Just an update:
We finally managed to reproduce this issue with the following steps:

1) Start IR
2) Immediately Resize it during the scene parsing
3) Observe the models with displacement are gone

It looks like something goes wrong if the VFB is resized during the parsing stage. We actually already had this reported, however previously the displacement would calculate incorrectly but the objects would still be visible which is why you maybe didn't notice this before.

As this seems to have gotten more serious I will bump our devs and see if we can do something about this.

As a workaround I would suggest not to resize the VFB until after the initial scene parsing has completed.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-03-17, 14:59:46
Reply #20

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 634
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi,

Just an update:
We finally managed to reproduce this issue with the following steps:

1) Start IR
2) Immediately Resize it during the scene parsing
3) Observe the models with displacement are gone

It looks like something goes wrong if the VFB is resized during the parsing stage. We actually already had this reported, however previously the displacement would calculate incorrectly but the objects would still be visible which is why you maybe didn't notice this before.

As this seems to have gotten more serious I will bump our devs and see if we can do something about this.

As a workaround I would suggest not to resize the VFB until after the initial scene parsing has completed.

Cheers,

Rowan

I already replied to you by email but is nice to write here too. Thanks for your efforts and I am glad you tracked the problem.

Thanks a lot Rowan!
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

Personal Portfolio: https://evolvia-imaging.com

2021-07-19, 13:49:02
Reply #21

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1364
    • View Profile
Hi Dionysios,

We have fixed this in v7 RC7. Please try it out and let me know if you continute to experience issues.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-07-19, 14:04:41
Reply #22

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 634
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Dionysios,

We have fixed this in v7 RC7. Please try it out and let me know if you continue to experience issues.

Cheers,

Rowan

Hi Rowan!

Yes, I saw the RC7's changelog, I'll try and I'll let you know in case we still have problems.
Glad you guys fix this.

Cheers!

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

Personal Portfolio: https://evolvia-imaging.com