Author Topic: Nvidia Denoiser BUG  (Read 3698 times)

2021-07-08, 00:24:37

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi!

Unfortunately I found out right now a problem with Nvidia Denoiser in RC5.
Once the image is rendered and saved in CXR format, once opened with the Corona Image Editor the Nvidia denoiser gives me very bad and strange results!
I attached a screenshot to see.

It happens with all the CXR files I have, older ones and new ones.
The latest Nvidia driver is installed and I use a 3080 RTX.

I didn't mentioned this problem in 3ds Max, when I render in the application the denoiser seems to work well, probably there is a problem withe Corona Image Editor.

Let me know if you confirm the issue.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-08, 14:30:48
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi Dionysios, I just tried this with V7 RC5 and I am getting an identical result in the VFB and in CIE.
Could you please provide:
- an example scene where this happens (can be even just a teapot)
- an example CXR where this happens (can be even just a teapot)

2021-07-08, 14:39:02
Reply #2

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Maru,

the problem appeared at my workstation at home and as I've mentioned in my initial message, if I open OLD CXR files it happens as well.
In any case, if it can help, I can send you a teapot scene once back at home.

For your info, VFB works perfectly well, CIE is the problem...
Maybe uninstall Corona and install it again could fix the problem? I'll try that too tonight.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-08, 14:55:23
Reply #3

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Dionysios, I just tried this with V7 RC5 and I am getting an identical result in the VFB and in CIE.
Could you please provide:
- an example scene where this happens (can be even just a teapot)
- an example CXR where this happens (can be even just a teapot)

At the office it works perfectly as well.
I'll try to uninstall and install again at this point, but only tonight once I am back at home.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-08, 19:50:22
Reply #4

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Dionysios, I just tried this with V7 RC5 and I am getting an identical result in the VFB and in CIE.
Could you please provide:
- an example scene where this happens (can be even just a teapot)
- an example CXR where this happens (can be even just a teapot)

Hi Maru,

as I promised I did some tests and here are my results:

- On the second workstation which uses an "old" 1080 I have no issues with RC5 and Nvidia Denoiser.
- Uninstall and install again didn't help on my main workstation, 3080 RTX.
- At the end the problem appears in VFB and CIE ONLY when a high res image is produced, example: 6100px and higher.
- Low Res images work fine, no issues.

I am going to upload in your Dropbox account a 3ds Max scene (teapot) and a high res CXR file @ 6100px.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-08, 19:52:40
Reply #5

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Files are upoladed in your Dropbox space, name of the file: Dionysios_Nvidia_Denoiser_Problem.zip

Thanks!

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-08, 21:09:27
Reply #6

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
A small update while I work on some of my images:

If I render a 8.500px image in Region mode (the region is quite small) and Nvidia Denoiser is on, the VFB image area flashes every 1 or 2 seconds. It goes to black and turns normal again.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-10, 10:40:38
Reply #7

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Did you guys had a chance to check what's going on? Why it produces those artifacts only in high res and no low res? Could be my GFX card?
I have no graphic issues with the card in any application, gaming, or other software.

Thanks again and have a nice weekend!

Dionysios -

« Last Edit: 2021-07-12, 10:55:32 by Dionysios.TS »
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-12, 14:00:01
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi Dionysios, sorry, we don't have any new findings yet. We will look into this ASAP.
Sorry that this is taking so long, I will do my best to speed it up.

2021-07-12, 14:02:33
Reply #9

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Thanks Maru,

no stress, I am just wondering if is a HW problem or SW one.
Here in the office it doesn't happen and same thing for my second workstation at home, both have an Nvidia 1080 card installed.
I only see the issue on the workstation where an RTX 3080 card is on.

Thanks!

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-12, 14:11:53
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I was able to reproduce this issue, but only using your CXR file.
I opened your scene and rendered it locally, saved a new CXR file in 6100 resolution and denoised it in CIE - everything was fine.
And I am using "only" a GTX 1660.

So it appears to be some issue on your end. Here is what I would suggest:

In V7, we do not install the specific Optix denoiser with Corona. Instead, we provide the one shipped with NVIDIA drivers, so:
1) Uninstall Corona completely
2) Go to C:\Program Files\Corona and remove this whole folder
3) Make sure you have the latest NVIDIA drivers installed in your system
4) Go to the folder where you have the V7 RC5 installer and make sure you do not have any offline NVIDIA Denoiser installer in that folder (this: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000048131)
5) Install V7 RC5 again using "custom" installation mode and make sure the NVIDIA Denoiser is selected in the installer
6) Try rendering the same scene again, save a CXR, try denoising it in CIE

2021-07-12, 14:16:32
Reply #11

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
I was able to reproduce this issue, but only using your CXR file.
I opened your scene and rendered it locally, saved a new CXR file in 6100 resolution and denoised it in CIE - everything was fine.
And I am using "only" a GTX 1660.

So it appears to be some issue on your end. Here is what I would suggest:

In V7, we do not install the specific Optix denoiser with Corona. Instead, we provide the one shipped with NVIDIA drivers, so:
1) Uninstall Corona completely
2) Go to C:\Program Files\Corona and remove this whole folder
3) Make sure you have the latest NVIDIA drivers installed in your system
4) Go to the folder where you have the V7 RC5 installer and make sure you do not have any offline NVIDIA Denoiser installer in that folder (this: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000048131)
5) Install V7 RC5 again using "custom" installation mode and make sure the NVIDIA Denoiser is selected in the installer
6) Try rendering the same scene again, save a CXR, try denoising it in CIE

Wow, fast result and thanks!
I'll try your suggestion workaround list tonight once back at home and I'll let you know.

Thanks a lot for now,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-12, 19:52:39
Reply #12

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
I was able to reproduce this issue, but only using your CXR file.
I opened your scene and rendered it locally, saved a new CXR file in 6100 resolution and denoised it in CIE - everything was fine.
And I am using "only" a GTX 1660.

So it appears to be some issue on your end. Here is what I would suggest:

In V7, we do not install the specific Optix denoiser with Corona. Instead, we provide the one shipped with NVIDIA drivers, so:
1) Uninstall Corona completely
2) Go to C:\Program Files\Corona and remove this whole folder
3) Make sure you have the latest NVIDIA drivers installed in your system
4) Go to the folder where you have the V7 RC5 installer and make sure you do not have any offline NVIDIA Denoiser installer in that folder (this: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000048131)
5) Install V7 RC5 again using "custom" installation mode and make sure the NVIDIA Denoiser is selected in the installer
6) Try rendering the same scene again, save a CXR, try denoising it in CIE

Hi Maru,

Unfortunately no luck.

1. I uninstall Corona V7 RC5
2. After this didn't find any Corona folder in C:\Program Files\
3. Reinstall Nvidia latest drivers
4. Reinstall Corona V7 RC5
5. Denoiser works fine in low res but produces those strange artifacts in high-res.

I am sorry for that...

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-14, 11:07:37
Reply #13

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
    • View Profile
Hi Dionysios,

Could you try and roll back to a previous driver version and see if that helps?

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-07-15, 00:49:43
Reply #14

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Dionysios,

Could you try and roll back to a previous driver version and see if that helps?

Cheers,

Rowan

Yes, I found the problem!

The issue is produced with the latest Nvidia Driver 471.11.
Resolved if I install the previous one 466.77, so it is the Nvidia latest driver responsible for the artifacts!

Thanks!

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-07-15, 00:51:50
Reply #15

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Dionysios,

Could you try and roll back to a previous driver version and see if that helps?

Cheers,

Rowan

Yes, I found the problem!

The issue is produced with the latest Nvidia Driver 471.11.
Resolved if I install the previous one 466.77, so it is the Nvidia latest driver responsible for the artifacts!

Thanks!

Dionysios -

And for your info I confirm, my second workstation who uses a 1080 with those latest drivers, doesn't produce this problem, the 3080 RTX yes.

So issue resolved if the Nvidia Driver 471.11 IS NOT installed on the system.
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-08-06, 18:30:22
Reply #16

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi all.

Just a reminder, is Nvidia aware of the Denoiser issues with it's new driver releases?
For now only the 466.77 works as it should.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-08-09, 09:55:44
Reply #17

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
    • View Profile
Hi Dionysios,

Sorry for not giving any updates on this, I contacted Nvidia today and I will let you know when I have some more information.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-08-09, 10:01:59
Reply #18

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hi Dionysios,

Sorry for not giving any updates on this, I contacted Nvidia today and I will let you know when I have some more information.

Cheers,

Rowan

Thanks you Rowan!

Take care,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-09-10, 00:52:29
Reply #19

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
HI, just an update...

Installed last Nvidia drivers + last daily build and the bug is still here.
Probably they didn't work on it yet.

Thanks,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-09-14, 02:02:31
Reply #20

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
A small update!

The new daily build seems to work at the end.
If I open an old CXR file, the problem persist. If I render a new one (latest September 6 2021 build), it seems ok.

I guess the old CXR files contain the bug denoise information inside, right?

Thanks again,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-09-14, 11:00:28
Reply #21

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
    • View Profile
Hi,

I'm glad this is working for you now. I think you are correct that the file has the old denoiser info in it.

Please let me know if this issue pops up again :)

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-09-18, 21:37:04
Reply #22

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Bad news, the bug is still here at the end but is more random than before.

I've rendered an image 8.192x8.192 and at the start of the rendering the denoiser worked fine. Once the rendering finished the bug was present all time.
So, Nvidia unfortunately didn't fix the problem and is still here.

Btw, do we have other users with the same problem? I've noticed that it happens only with the new RTX cards.

Thanks and have a nice Sunday tomorrow.

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-09-20, 10:43:21
Reply #23

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have contacted nvidia again to see if they made any progress on this.

I'll let you know when I get some more information.

EDIT: I have some more information, the nvidia team informed me that they have fixed this issue and it should be included in the next driver release which should hopefully be quite soon.

Cheers.

Rowan
« Last Edit: 2021-09-20, 13:17:08 by rowmanns »
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-09-22, 12:55:53
Reply #24

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
    • View Profile
Hey Dionysios,

This is fixed now. I just tried with the latest driver 472.12 released on 20/09/2021.

I tried with your cxr which previously was failing and it now denoises correctly.

Let me know how you get on.

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2021-09-22, 13:05:03
Reply #25

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Oh good! Great to know, I'll try tonight then and I'll get back to you here.

Thanks for caring,

Dionysios -
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-09-22, 20:55:26
Reply #26

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 641
    • View Profile
    • Personal Portfolio
Hey Dionysios,

This is fixed now. I just tried with the latest driver 472.12 released on 20/09/2021.

I tried with your cxr which previously was failing and it now denoises correctly.

Let me know how you get on.

Rowan

Yes I confirm, it works perfectly now!!!

Thanks Rowan  :)
RPBW Responsable d’Imagerie / CGI Manager
& freelance 3D Artist.

2021-09-23, 09:14:26
Reply #27

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1409
    • View Profile
Super, glad it works now :)
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!