Author Topic: WIP - Exhibition stands rendering scenarios  (Read 2807 times)

2020-03-11, 10:26:37

mfcb

• Users
    • View Profile
Hello,
I've been working for a few years designing exhibition stands, and I'm feeling that I'm kind of stuck. My feeling is that the I can't go further even trying different lighting setups.
Images have to be very clean and aseptic.

I don't know if its because the lack of a backplate / 3D scenario. I haven't found one to place the stands inside that convinces me (for free of course, because my company is not going to "waste" money in this...)

Actually I work with a general HDRI of a cloudy day, and try to highlight with some rectangle lights. The backplate is a ciclorama matte with  a CoronaRaySwitch material to avoid having reflections and refractions of the HDRI (or at least it was my initial intentions, because I ended having weird refletions on the aluminum of the hanging structure, glass, etc.)

Sometimes I add some internal lights of the exhibition stand, others I prefer to avoid overloading the scene with tons of lights, and just use coronalight mtl without emiting light.

My workflow goes through pulze scene manager, having a light setup for each view. I've never go over 1920 x 1400 resolution and 3px noise level limit. Normally I just postprocess a bit in the corona image editor with some luts, curves and effects.

Lately I've been using some megascans materials, trying to simplify the material editing process to be able to work faster. Sometimes I have to fake some materials to be understandable by the clients, like metals (going plain grey...), because with light reflections they seem to be white and in my boss opinion it's just my who can tell it's a metal by the reflections.

I'm just questioning myself which can be the next step, what would you recommend me to got a bit further?
Thank you for your help, and if I can solve any doubt please feel freee to ask.

2020-03-11, 10:32:44
Reply #1

Jpjapers

• Active Users