Author Topic: Reducing RAM usage  (Read 1205 times)

2022-01-17, 10:22:24

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 595
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
Hi all,

I'm working on a huge scene and topping out my 128gb of RAM very quickly.

I've come across 'Bitmap Tracking / Resizing' by Pixamoon which I highly recommend after only about 5 mins of usage...

I'm just checking in to confirm if the following is true and or helpful for my situation: will JPG use less RAM than PNG? And JPG less than Tif? Or am I kinda thinking of it wrong; will lower sized files use less RAM? So it doesn't matter the file type?

And I'm presuming that a 1mb file will use less RAM than it's 10mb counterpart?

What other tricks can I use? I'm already using xrefs (about 20 of them!). many many proxies, corona and forest scatter. The file opening time is becoming a MASSIVE issue, but I guess there isn't much to do about that.

Any other advice/tips MUCH appreciated :)
Nicolas Pratt
Another Angle 3D
https://www.instagram.com/anotherangle3d/

2022-01-17, 10:25:36
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7535
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Texture file format doesn't matter, heavily compressed JPG will take as much RAM, as uncompressed TIF. What matters is resolution, bit depth and number of channels.

Edit: here's the confirmation from one of the devs: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=22406.msg137912#msg137912
« Last Edit: 2022-01-17, 10:29:19 by romullus »
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-01-17, 10:45:46
Reply #2

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 595
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
Cheers mate.

That's actually very helpful info.

If anyone else has any tips on how to reduce scene file loading time and/or RAM usage during rendering, that'd be very helpful.

Thanks again.
Nicolas Pratt
Another Angle 3D
https://www.instagram.com/anotherangle3d/

2022-01-17, 12:35:55
Reply #3

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1662
    • View Profile
As already mentioned, textures have the biggest impact in my case, too.
Other thing that can help if you're rendering bigger resolutions is to render as few additional channels as you can get away with, e.g. rendering using lightmix will use up more RAM due to the additional separate channels needed versus a single beauty render etc.

2022-01-17, 12:52:51
Reply #4

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 595
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
As already mentioned, textures have the biggest impact in my case, too.
Other thing that can help if you're rendering bigger resolutions is to render as few additional channels as you can get away with, e.g. rendering using lightmix will use up more RAM due to the additional separate channels needed versus a single beauty render etc.

Good point. Unfortunately I'm already only rendering the bare-bones (beauty and the obligatory alpha).
Nicolas Pratt
Another Angle 3D
https://www.instagram.com/anotherangle3d/

2022-01-17, 22:48:53
Reply #5

mferster

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 486
    • View Profile
How much displacement are you using? you may want to use corona displacement mods to selectively change your displacement where needed rather than going with a global approach