Author Topic: Optasia Sketchbook  (Read 6116 times)

2015-10-08, 14:39:33

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
I'm going to start a new thread here with our work.

We are a VIZ company based in Switzerland, doing architectural as well as product visualization. We switched to Corona from V-Ray due to its simplicity and the good speed/accuracy ratio.
« Last Edit: 2016-07-12, 13:25:59 by -Ben-Battler- »
Visit Pangaroo

2015-10-12, 23:51:17
Reply #1

selant

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 66
    • View Profile
wow! such simple and beautiful.. really giving the realistic feeling of the place..

2015-10-15, 16:00:27
Reply #2

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Thanks. More stuff is in the making.
Visit Pangaroo

2015-10-30, 15:47:28
Reply #3

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Here is another work of us.

The Maserati 450S is a race car from 1956 with the temperament of its creators. V8 motor, 400hp, topspeed 300km/h.

This is the first time we are doing automotive renderings, so I would be glad to hear some feedback concerning composition and lighting.

BTW: Is there a way to change the gallery thread thumbnail?
« Last Edit: 2015-10-30, 15:59:08 by -Ben-Battler- »
Visit Pangaroo

2015-10-30, 17:20:05
Reply #4

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7187
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
BTW: Is there a way to change the gallery thread thumbnail?

First attachement in first post is shown as topic's thumbnail.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-10-30, 18:49:21
Reply #5

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
First attachement in first post is shown as topic's thumbnail.

So, judging your answer there is no way to change it?
Visit Pangaroo

2015-10-30, 19:17:55
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7187
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
You can modify you first post, don't you?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-10-30, 19:52:27
Reply #7

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
You can modify you first post, don't you?

Well I finally see it. Thank you.
Visit Pangaroo

2016-07-12, 13:25:17
Reply #8

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Some RnD with clouds.
Visit Pangaroo

2016-07-12, 14:50:31
Reply #9

DarcTheo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
Some RnD with clouds.

How did you go about making the clouds?

2016-07-12, 15:10:40
Reply #10

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Almost exactly like maru in his sample scene:

But I didn't use an FFD modifier, every variation bases on the same round Geosphere. I just made a soft vertice selection at the bottom of the geometry so that the coarse displacement won't affect the base of the cloud.

For the material's displacement i used a mix of two Smoke maps in different sizes. And the variation was made only by changing the Phase of the Smoke map in the displacement modifier. Easy to handle if you different clouds of the same type.

I don't know how maru's material is built up, I haven't downloaded his file yet.
Visit Pangaroo

2016-07-12, 15:42:15
Reply #11

DarcTheo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 175
    • View Profile
Thanks. Ah yeah I remember that post from Maru, have yet to try it.

I find displacement a bit fragile to work with, sometimes it can work out fine other times it can destroy render times. What was this like for render times, would it actually be usable in a scene?

2016-07-12, 15:51:54
Reply #12

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
I find it rather comfortable to work with since you can set the quality in a LoD manner (screen size).

Sure, it eats memory. I can imagine when making a sky full of stars.. eh, clouds, then it sums up pretty badly. I will have to test it.

Render times were okay, about 12mins for HD on a single i7 3930 for the above images.
Visit Pangaroo

2016-07-13, 07:51:38
Reply #13

gsgraphic

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
nice works

2016-07-13, 10:48:34
Reply #14

-Ben-Battler-

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Thanks

This scene with about 500 clouds ate 8GB of RAM.

Visit Pangaroo