Author Topic: Layer & select material. Copy paste loses linked materials  (Read 571 times)

2023-10-18, 17:42:15

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
When copy and pasting either corona layered or corona select material between files, the linked materials are not carried over.

For instance I have a sphere with 4 alternative coloured materials set up in a corona select material. After pasting, the slots are empty and need to be manually re-added.

C4D's File>Merge works fine, but then it brings over other lights etc that you may not want from the original scene.

(windows 10, c4d 2023)

2023-10-18, 17:47:48
Reply #1

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi @davetwo,
Could you please let me know what is your Corona version and if you're using any texture maps?
I've tried reproducing this, but all 5 materials assigned to the layered material in my test scene were just copied (I've only copied the layered material to a fresh new scene)
If possible, you can share your scene project with us (please include all necessary assets), so that way we can investigate further.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload

2023-10-18, 23:49:27
Reply #2

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Corona 10 hotfix 1 and 2. Happens with materials without texture maps too.
Will try to make a demo tomorrow

2023-10-19, 09:52:40
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3730
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, I tried to recreate this but could not. :/

Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-10-19, 10:24:45
Reply #4

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 295
    • View Profile
Hmmm - I tried recreating the issue in a simple file - but it worked fine.
Its still happening in my 'real' file, but I can''t share that unfortunately....
I'll see if I can isolate the difference when I have some time spare

Thanks for the tests so far

2023-10-19, 11:13:39
Reply #5

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3730
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Okay great. We look forward to hearing from you :)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-10-19, 13:13:44
Reply #6

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 328
    • View Profile
Hope you got the files I uploaded. Love to know if you experienced the same with file I uploaded.

I have to add that other than this map link problem my experience with OS Sonoma, C4D 2024 and CR 11 is very good. Been working yesterday day all day on two images with a very large file and lots of scattering, lights and Chaos Cosmos assets and never had a crash. Resizing the interactive window works well now although a bit wobbly. I have all my assets on the harddrive in my Mac Studio and that might make a big difference as well.

Mac Studio 20 core/128Gb.

F

2023-10-19, 18:11:50
Reply #7

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 328
    • View Profile
Sorry this reply should go in the other thread about linking maps.

2023-11-03, 20:48:19
Reply #8

mascab

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
I have the same problem with layered materials. Copy and paste from one file to another causes broken links in layers, both if I copy only the material and If i copy the object with the material applied on it.

2023-11-03, 23:00:37
Reply #9

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Same here on Corona 11 ( the previous daily build ).
The weirdest lart is that it only happen in real, "production" scenes, I can't reproduce the bug in a new fresh scene.