Author Topic: ADVISE: Very Large Revit model to animate  (Read 373 times)

2022-11-30, 08:49:32

Philip kelly

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
    • Sketchrender
Good morning.
I have a very large Revit Model and I want to animate a walkthrough.
I have been given the path and the revit models are very big.
There will be a building then all the manufacturing elements also to go in it, there will be multiple parts to include.

So ,My questions are .
1 .Are there any script or plugins out there people use to clean up a large Revit file?
2. Should I use corona or Vray and Expport as a mesh to Vantage and Animate it that way?


Advise would be grateful.

Thank you

Phil
Dell Precision T7910

2022-12-01, 13:23:00
Reply #1

88qba88

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 74
    • View Profile
What about TwinMotion? It's now free for Revit 2023.1 so maybe you can give it a try :)

2022-12-01, 16:16:12
Reply #2

Philip kelly

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
    • Sketchrender
Quality is not good enough and won't take the polygones this is going to throw at it.
I have been using Vray and Corona for years, but was wondering if people have experience with mega polygones being rendered in animations.
Is an RTX 3090 graphics card required and more that 96gb of ram?

Thank you  for anwering.
For a help area it not very lively.................
« Last Edit: 2022-12-01, 17:46:16 by Philip kelly »
Dell Precision T7910

2022-12-01, 18:10:35
Reply #3

nauticus25

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • View Profile
My suggestion is to use Datasmith to send it over to Unreal Engine. We've been going this route for animations lately. It's a little more prep work, but the output is real-time so any iterations/revisions are much faster to output instead of waiting days for a render farm. The Nanite system takes care of the high-poly objects without the need for optimization. UE 5.1 now includes Nanite for vegetation, which is a huge plus.

i9-9980XE @ 3GHz, 64GB RAM, 2080ti
Max 2022, Corona 8

2022-12-02, 11:06:17
Reply #4

Philip kelly

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
    • Sketchrender
Thank you for reply.
I have used Unreal before and the pipe is too much for a very large project with 100's of objects to retexture and light etc.
I know it is fantastic, trust me if I doidn't have to work for a living I would be using it on daily basis.

But thank you  for thr imput.
Dell Precision T7910

2022-12-13, 18:41:37
Reply #5

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 96
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi there,
Perhaps you may want to try using the Flipbook add-on for Revit.
You can find it in the Autodesk store ( https://apps.autodesk.com/RVT/en/Detail/Index?id=8373619177753983826&appLang=en&os=Win64 )
I hope this helps.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative | contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload