Author Topic: FIX THE CHAOS MAC ISSUES PLEASE  (Read 942 times)

2022-11-18, 11:56:58

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • oxocan
It's been 1 month since I am not able to use the Chaos and Corona service as a paying customer. I had the Corona tech team log in to my mac remotely and the issue of not being able to connect to the license server or use any of the tools is still an issue.

These issues need to be fixed before spending any more time making pretty materials or 3D assets. You need to get the basics right so we can actually log in first.

We followed every instruction on your website on troubleshooting, we had your tech team log into our computer remotely and when the mac restarted it all went to hell again. I want my license to be reset to 365 days I renewed it a month ago and have not been able to use the tools.
oxocan.com

2022-11-18, 13:49:26
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11871
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi, it's Marcin from the Corona team here. Could you please share with me the number of the ticket you started? I was able to find one under a different email address than the one you are using here on the forum, but would like to make sure that I am looking at the right thing.

Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-11-18, 18:28:27
Reply #2

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 96
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi Oxocan London,
As maru said, could you please provide the support ticket number?
This way, we can locate it and follow up to provide additional assistance.
Have a lovely weekend ahead.
Kind regards.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative | contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload

2022-11-19, 08:15:42
Reply #3

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • oxocan
Hi Gents,

We moved on to Redshift and Arnold for our workflow. I will revisit Chaos in 6 months as I am hoping by then these basic licensing and browser issues would have been fixed.

Thank you once again.

Warm regards.

oxocan.com

2022-11-19, 22:26:07
Reply #4

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
Hi Oxocon,
I am on a Mac, a Mac Studio Ultra m1, a Macbook m1 and an Intel iMac late 2015. Working at two different internet connections and providers, for home and an office in the city.

I had simular issues before when Chaos just started the new license system. They helped me sort it out and the current versions of CR 9 and C4D 2023 are good. Actually, it's all very stable and reliable. No Crashes or anything really apart from a few minor things that have to do with the UI.

2022-11-20, 08:02:38
Reply #5

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • oxocan
Hi,

Appreciate your feedback, however, they already tried their very best when they remotely logged in to my mac. This was never an issue with CR8, but since CR9 it become a nightmare.

I will give them some time to work on these issues and revisit in a few months to see how they got on. Redshift and Arnold are fantastic alternatives to get the job done.

Warm regards,
Ian
oxocan.com

2022-11-21, 00:49:28
Reply #6

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
    • View Profile
I don't think you need to wait for months. I did not and with the support of Chaos all was fixes in a few days. I can assure you it all works fine really.

2022-11-21, 10:24:37
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11871
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi,

Appreciate your feedback, however, they already tried their very best when they remotely logged in to my mac. This was never an issue with CR8, but since CR9 it become a nightmare.


This may be some issue with the Chaos License Server. If that's the case, you can try downgrading to an older version ("show all versions" here https://download.chaos.com/?platform=47&product=48 ).
In any case, I would strongly advise contacting our support team at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new - we respond quickly and have dedicated teams to help with all sorts of issues.

Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-11-22, 10:25:36
Reply #8

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • oxocan
I did install the latest version.

Also, I provided Stafan with the remote login details via email. Waiting for his response.

Regards.
oxocan.com

2022-11-22, 11:12:51
Reply #9

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11871
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I did install the latest version.

My advice is to install an older version.
This is a shot in the dark, but it may be worth a try.

But if you are already in touch with the tech support, it will be best to rely on their expertise.

Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-11-22, 12:24:46
Reply #10

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • oxocan
Issues sorted finally! Thank you Stefan for logging in and fixing the persistent issue after two months of not working!
oxocan.com

2022-11-22, 14:12:47
Reply #11

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11871
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
The solution was to reinstall the Chaos License Server and Cosmos.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-11-22, 17:52:18
Reply #12

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 28
  • oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • oxocan
That was not the solution to simply reinstall the license server and the browser. Stephan the technician actually did a lot o f work on Apple Terminal as the license server and browser could not be activated by clicking around the usual mac interface. You need to be a computer technician to do what Stephan did, especially on the Terminal Window with all the wired coding....

So let's not make it sounds like it was an easy process, because if that were the case, we would not be in this messy situation where hundreds of Mac users are faced with these technical issues. If you look at Arnold or Redshift, all it takes is "a simple click" as you call it and things are automatically handled without having to to any Terminal coding work to get access to the plugin.
oxocan.com

2022-11-22, 19:56:21
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11871
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Yes, sorry, that was more like an internal note in case of future cases like yours. Definitely contacting Chaos support is the best idea to get issues like this resolved.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-11-22, 19:59:07
Reply #14

johnnyswedish

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Just thought I'd mention that OSX is a totally locked down OS and does not allow 'Us the users' to do as we please, only how Apple wants. I switched over to Windows 11 Pro and do not look back. Much more stable and have very few problems. Not to mention speed. Personally I think PCs are leaps ahead of Macs in performance. Just saying :-)